Ohio Weather

As I have stated in a previous post, I dislike when people leave their blogs unattended for a period of time without notice. I realize that this is what I have done for the past couple of weeks, and I apologize for my lack of posts. Since it was Black Friday this past week, it was a bit difficult for me to create a post as the retail world needed me. But now, on to this post.

That's What "Grinds My Gears" template. Annoyance level 2.

That’s What “Grinds My Gears” template. Annoyance level 2. Image: FOX.

Living in Cincinnati, I’ve been used to weird, erratic and just downright crazy weather from day to day. In April, it can be a gorgeous 70 degrees (Fahrenheit), one day and then drop to the low 40s the next. Cue the constant Facebook statuses and Twitter updates about how strange this weather is. It’s not the fact that the weather bothers me; it is the fact that people aren’t used to the weather by now is what grinds my gears.

As the weather this past week shows, the beginning of the week was well into the 60s for the first week of December. While I write this, it is currently pouring rain and there is supposed to be a snow storm heading into the area later in the night. Big whoop.

This topic only gets a ranking of two on my annoyance level scale because I have become so accustomed to the unpredictable climate in Cincinnati, that it isn’t high on the list of what grinds my gears.

In the summer, Ohio (specifically the south part of the state) can reach temperatures in the 90s with the humidity being in the 50-60 percent. Then the next day, we can drop down to the 70s the next day. There may even be snow in spring and summer. Hell, even January has gotten some days where it can be in the 60s. Ohio just loves to be kooky when it comes to weather and what season it is.

However common this is, it seems to be a surprise to many folks. My few months in retail have caused me to have meaningless chit-chat with multiple people. I don’t mind; but the weather does seem to come up often. It intrigues me that people who have lived here their entire lives are shocked when we have mild weather one day and “strange” (read: normal for the season) weather the next.

I guess this post has just turned into a rant for me to complain about people who find Ohio weather bizarre. Sorry folks, but the Ohio weather and people’s reactions to it — even though I consider it normal — tend to grind my gears. Maybe it is because I have lived in the same city my entire life and the majority of my family is from the northeast, but the inconsistent climate of Ohio has become second nature to me. It doesn’t surprise me that I can wear shorts with flip-flops and sweaters with boots within the same week.

In the end, Ohio is the state where the weather is made up and the current season doesn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

