“Countdown to Christmas!”

Why the F*ck? "Grinds my Gears" template. Annoyance level 4.

Why the F*ck? “Grinds my Gears” template. Annoyance level 4. Image: FOX.

Ah, Halloween, my favorite holiday. Who doesn’t love an abundance of candy, finding a creative (or lack thereof) costume and weeping because you realize have no talent at pumpkin carving? What could be better than that? Well, to many, the obvious answer is Christmas. Because let’s face it, who doesn’t love getting off school or work, spending time with family and, of course, loads of presents?

This post isn’t about me ragging on Christmas; rather, it’s how the norm in society is to jump the gun on when to start celebrating Christmas. And that, really grinds my gears.

Normally, I would hold off on creating this post until sometime next month when everyone is too busy Christmas shopping to even remember Thanksgiving exists. However, since today is Halloween and I have already seen three different commercials for layaway deals and commercials for Christmas specials, I felt the timing to rant was right.

Every year since I was about 11, I’ve noticed the Christmas season being steadily pushed back into November. Now, it looks as if people can no longer wait for November and use October to showboat the most wonderful time of the year. Not only is Thanksgiving getting forgotten about for Christmas promotions, so is Halloween.

I understand at the end of the day for businesses, the most important thing is making money (although any business will tell you that customer satisfaction is more important), but it grinds my gears that corporations are using this technique and people don’t seemed to be bothered by it.

The same goes for TV networks. ABC Family now not only has their typical “25 Days of Christmas” lineup, they now have “Countdown to 25 Days of Christmas.”

[NOTE: This commercial is from last year. The 2013 commercial is currently not available on YouTube.]

Advertising holiday specials that only air once a year will draw in a large audience, which means higher ratings, which will help the networks in the long run. All of this promoting is about self-interest. But this self-interest causes a bit of detestation toward Christmas on my part.

I’m not saying I hate celebrating Christmas, nor am I telling people when they can start celebrating Christmas. Instead, I’m ranting about how Christmas has taken priority in recent years over other holidays and seasons here in the U.S.  Although Canada has its own Thanksgiving, the American Thanksgiving is one of the few holidays that isn’t celebrated elsewhere. Thanksgiving is meaningful to Americans and by brushing over a celebration of our nation, I feel people are caring less about the season of giving and more about spending money.

Counting down to Christmas doesn’t get me more enthusiastic about the holiday, but instead, makes me annoyed that it seems Christmas takes precedence over other holidays throughout the years. That is what grinds my gears.

Leave a Reply

