Ovarian Cancer

Too High "Grinds My Gears" template. Annoyance level 5.

Too High “Grinds My Gears” template. Annoyance level 5. Image: FOX.

Ah, the big C. Cancer tends to be a walking-on-eggshells subject in the modern world because so many people have been affected by it. If you personally haven’t been affected by it, you know someone or even know someone who knows someone who has been affected by cancer. And unfortunately, not all of those people have survived.

It is Friday the 13th; we have officially gone through two weeks of September, and I doubt anyone has heard anything about September being ovarian cancer awareness month. I myself have heard one commercial about my local National Ovarian Cancer Coalition’s events for this month. That commercial was also only aired on the radio.

I’m not saying I’m angry about ovarian cancer — though it is discouraging so many people aren’t educated about it as well. I’m saying I’m angry that we’ve gone through two weeks in September, and hardly anywhere seems to acknowledge it’s ovarian cancer awareness month.

For months on end, starting mid-summer, I constantly get reminded that October is breast cancer awareness month. Ohio University’s moms weekend always has a Moms Walk for the Cure, raising money for the Susan G. Komen foundation. Kings Island amusement park has “Pink Days,” where guests can help raise money for Kings Island for the Cure by participating in a raffle. These “Pink Days” are held in August.

Going on the other end of the spectrum, FOX Sports has joined forces with the Prostate Cancer Foundation to raise awareness about how deadly prostate cancer can be. Not only this, September has also been declared prostate cancer awareness month in the senate today.

Now don’t get upset with me; both breast cancer and prostate cancer are serious life-threatening diseases. I am not denying that they are just as important as ovarian cancer. What grinds my gears is that I go through the summer hearing about breast cancer awareness month and hear absolutely nothing about ovarian cancer awareness month.  Even when we’re in September, there is still nothing about ovarian cancer.

What I’m getting at is this: be informed. The Ovarian Cancer National Alliance is having “30 Days of Teal” for this September. The National Ovarian Cancer Coalition has a newsletter available on their website of events for the whole month and what chapters are included. And ladies, be informed about your bodies. Ovarian cancer is difficult to diagnose in its early stages. When it is in its later stages, ovarian cancer is easier to detect and diagnose, but in many cases, it is too late.

What grinds my gears is not only the lack of acknowledgment of ovarian cancer, it’s that many people don’t know ovarian cancer causes more deaths than any other cancer of the female reproductive system.

One thought on “Ovarian Cancer

Leave a Reply

