That's What "Grinds My Gears" template. Annoyance level 2.

That’s What “Grinds My Gears” template. Annoyance level 2. Image: FOX.

I’ll officially come out and say it: I am not particularly a fan of blogs. Whooo, it feels great to get that off my chest.

Sure, you may argue that makes me a hypocrite, but let me explain why blogs really grind my gears.

As Time magazine has recently pointed out this summer, the millennial generation has been dubbed the “Me Me Me Generation,” saying that millennials have become more narcissistic than previous generations before us. I feel that this article only partially gets the point across.

The main reason we millennials want instant gratification and feel that it’s all about us is because of the Internet, primarily social media. Granted, I grew up in the ’90s and early 2000s, so Internet was still a bit new to my family, but the information super highway has become a staple to everyday life for Americans.

The technology that kids and young adults have at hand nowadays, such as smartphones with an Internet connection, allows us instant gratification and allows us to be narcissistic. This is where blogs come in.

Most homes in the U.S. now have WiFi, meaning people can access the Internet from anywhere in one’s home rather than using a home/family computer. Twitter and Facebook have allowed people of varying ages to post to the Internet what’s on their mind and even promotes those ideas by allowing retweets or liking a status.

Why not take social media one step further? When an individual posts something and thinks that he or she is clever, witty, brilliant, etc. enough, he or she feels the need to share those thoughts with the world. Blogs allow individuals to share those thoughts. That doesn’t necessarily mean that A. those thoughts need to be shared, B. those shared thoughts are clever, witty, brilliant, etc. and C. that doesn’t make one a good writer.

That’s my main beef with blogs; people automatically assume (or at least they do in my experience) that as soon as they start to blog, they think they’re the next Hemingway (or J.K. Rowling if you loathe Hemingway from your experience in high school English). This really grinds my gears. Not only did I take classes in high school of what makes good creative writing, I went to college for journalism and took classes on blogging. That’s why blogs irk me: I spent all this time learning about what makes writing creative and other folks come along and feel their writing is superior.

I’m not saying no one can be a blogger; there are blogs such as Molly Ford’s Smart, Pretty & Awkward, which I adore (seriously, go check it out!) and the widely popular PostSecret that I also follow. These blogs have been created for different audiences and create different content. Everyone has their preferences, and with the wide variety of blogs out there, along with easy access to and social media, the Internet allows people to read and write blogs based on their own preferences.

I guess what I’m saying is this: there is a double-edged sword, I feel, when it comes to blogging. Blogging allows the “Me Me Me Generation” another outlet for narcissism and showing how great they are. Even though, blogs enable people to write about something they are passionate about. That’s what makes blogging good in my book. Better yet, blogging allows people an outlet for things that really grinds their gears.

[NOTE: Matt Bors created a good counter argument to Time‘s “Me Me Me Generation” story. CNN Opinion has the column here.]

Blogs

One thought on “Blogs

Leave a Reply

